pow! wow! hawaii 2018

 

february 10 - 18, 2018

POW WOW! HAWAII IS A GATHERING OF CONTEMPORARY ARTISTS THAT ENGAGES WITH THE BROADER COMMUNITY IN THE PROCESS AND CREATION OF ART.

Supported by the Hawaii Tourism Authority, POW! WOW! has grown into a global network of artists and organizes gallery shows, lecture series, schools for art and music, mural projects, a large creative space named Lana Lane Studios, concerts, and live art installations across the globe. The Hawaii event takes place during Valentine’s Day week in February in the Kaka’ako district of Honolulu, and brings over a hundred international and local artists together to create murals and other forms of art.

After touring the globe and beautifying the streets of ten different cities, contemporary art initiative POW! WOW! takes to its hometown in Oahu, Hawaii for its 2018 festivities. Taking place between February 10th and the 18th, artists and musicians will gather at the Kaka’ako neighborhood and create all new murals and installations. The festival is fleshed out with a block party alongside the Honolulu Night Market, an exhibition curated by Thinkspace at the Honolulu Museum of Art, a print show with Detroit-based 1xRun, artist talks, screenings, foot golf tournaments with Kicks to the Pitch and Paradise Soccer Club, break dancing battles with UDEF, as well as concert with BAMP.

In 2017, the festival was held in the following cities: Honolulu, Hawaii; Washington D.C.; Israel; Long Beach, California; Worcester, Massachusetts; Guam; Seoul, South Korea; San Jose, California; Kobe, Japan; and Taipei, Taiwan.

POW! WOW! Hawaii 2018 Visiting Artist Roster : Anna T-Iron (@annatiron) – Germany, Bakibaki – Japan, Bounce (@bounce1029) – Taiwan, Cab (@cab_is_) – Japan, Daniel Arsham (@danielarsham) – New York, Dulk (@dulk1) – Spain, Faile (@faileart) – New York, Horishow (@horishow) – Japan, Icy and Sot (@icyandsot) – Iran, James Bullough (@james_bullough) – Germany, Jonny Alexander – California, Kelly Tunstall (@kellytunstall) – California, Laurence Vallieres (@laurenceval) – Montreal, Lauren YS (@lolo.ys) – California, OG Slick (@og_slick) – Hawaii/California, Ricky Watts (@rickywatts) – California, Royyal dog (@royyaldog) – South Korea, Sam Yong (@saminthewolf) – Australia, Sandra Chevrier (@sandrachevrier) – Montreal, Sean Chao (@seanchaochao) – Vancouver, Simone Legno (Tokidoki) (@simonelegno/@tokidokibrand) – Italy, SixCoin (@sixcoin_kr) – South Korea, Spenser Little (@spenserlittleart) – California, Sydney James (@sydneygjames) – Michigan, Tran Nguyen (@mynameistran) – Vietnam, Whole9 – Japan, Woes (@woes) – Hawaii/California

POW! WOW! Hawaii 2018 Local Artists : 7Sketches (@7sketches), Asalt (@asalt_one), Cme, Cory Taum (@kamehana_o_kala), Devour, Gary Draws Fish (@garydrawsfish), Gavin Murai (@reckonshop), Gezu, Jasper Wong (@mrjasperwong), Jeffrey Gress (@pro_gress), Jesse Velasquez (@dakine.dak1ne), Kahiau Beamer (@mungmonster), Kai Kaulukukui (@artworkofkai), Kamea Hadar (@kameahadar), Kaplan Bunce (@kapache1), Katch (@katch1), Kate Wadsworth (@wadsworthink), Kealakukui (@kealakukui_), Kris Goto (@kgotoart), Lucky Olelo (@luckyolelo), Maek (@hydeclyde), Marko Livingston (@markotattoos), Nicole Naone (@nicoleforever), Oera (@uglykid_o), Prime (@808prime), Puff (@pufftronic), Reem Bassous, Retsy, Solomon Enos (@solomonenos), Unomas (@unomaser), Wooden Wave (@wooden_wave)

For more information on POW! WOW! Hawaii contact info@powwowhawaii.com